The state of Ohio recently announced that it will be raising its minimum liability coverage for drivers for the first time since 1969. While this will translate into higher premiums for the 5% of Ohio drivers who only carry minimum coverage, it may lead to lower auto insurance premiums for everyone else later on down the road.
The new minimum liability requirements for car accidents are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury (up to $50,000 per accident)
- $25,000 for property damage
The injury liability has doubled (was $12,500), and the property damage amount has tripled (was $7,500). Although the new law takes effect this month, there will be a nine-month grace period to help drivers transition over to the higher premiums. December 22, 2013 will be the date the new requirements officially kick in. Current policyholders do not have to comply with the new requirements until their first policy renewal after December 22.
If you have been seriously injured in an Ohio car accident because of a negligent driver, don’t let the insurance company give you the runaround. Please contact Robert W. Kerpsack Co., L.P.A. today to schedule a free case evaluation with one of our experienced attorneys.